Geography — Year 2 — Continents and Seas

Continents

There are **seven** continents.

- Europe
- Asia
- Africa
- North America
- South America
- Antarctica
- Australia (also known as Australasia or Oceania)

Oceans

There are **five** oceans.

- Pacific Ocean
- Atlantic Ocean
- Indian Ocean
- Southern Ocean
- Arctic Ocean

Key Vocabulary

Continent - A very large area of land that consists of many countries. Europe is a continent.

Country - An area of land that is controlled by its own government.

England - A country in the United Kingdom. Newcastle is a city in England.

Island - A piece of land that is completely surrounded by water.

Ocean - One of the five very large areas of salt water on the Earth's surface.

Sea - A large area of salty water that is part of an ocean surrounded to be present all around.

Surrounded — To be present all around. E.g. An island is surrounded by water.

